Red velvet “love” cupcakes

2

“Cooking is like love. It should be entered into with abandon or not at all.”
Harriet van Horne

2

2

When I say love, what food do you think of?

2

Strawberries and champagne.

Anything chocolate (y).

Fresh watermelon.

A rich soup, and some crusty bread.

2

(Wait, was that last one that weird?)

2

Food and love are so deeply connected.

2

2

I cook when I’m in love.
I cook for people I love.
I love what I cook.
I love when I cook.

2

Don’t you?

2

2

These cupcakes are special. They’re not everyday. They’re not ordinary.
They’re beautiful. Magical. Lovable.

2

2

They’re rich, yet light.
Their gorgeous deep red colour makes me smile every time I lay my eyes on them.
They resound with love.
They make me believe in love.

2

2

Make some, won’t you? Share some love 🙂

2

2

Red velvet “love” cupcakes
Adapted from: Joy the baker

2

Prep time: 10 mins
Cook time: 15 mins
Makes: 6

2

Ingredients:

2

2 tbsp butter
45 g ground sugar
1 egg
1½ tbsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp red food colouring
½ tsp vanilla extract
60 ml buttermilk
70 g plain flour, sifted
¼ tsp baking soda
1 tsp white vinegar

2

For the cream cheese frosting

2

1½ tbsp butter
30 g cream cheese
60 g icing sugar, sifted

2

NOTE: This is for a moderate amount. If you like your cupcakes smothered in frosting, by all means up the quantities.

2

Method:

2

For the red velvet cupcakes

2

1. Preheat the oven to 180º C. In bowl mix the butter and sugar together well. Crack the egg in the mixture, and stir vigorously.
2. In a separate bowl mix the cocoa powder, food colour, and vanilla extract together. Put this into the egg mixture and stir well again, removing any lumps.
3. Add half the buttermilk and stir. Add half the flour and mix again. Add the remaining buttermilk and flour, and stir until you have a smooth batter.
4. Add the baking soda and vinegar, and mix well one last time.
5. Pour into a tray lined with cupcake liners and bake for 15 minutes. Remove from the tray and cool on a wire rack.

2

For the cream cheese frosting

2

1. Mix all the ingredients in a bowl. Taste, and add more sugar if you like.
2. Put into a piping bag with a simple rounded tip, and pipe small circles in the centre of the cooled cupcakes.
3. Devour! 🙂

11 thoughts on “Red velvet “love” cupcakes

  1. OMG I just took a look at the pictures of your “love” cupcakes, and to put it mildly, they’ve simply taken my breath away! These look overwhelmingly BEAUTIFUL, its too much! aargh!

  2. I was one of the lucky people to eat one of these…and I swear I’ve never had a better ummmmmm anything!! 🙂

Something to say?